A Manhattan Winter

I prefer to spend time in New York in the early winter because the Holidays/New Year always brings out a fresh energy in the city. This winter, I headed down to Manhattan to spend some time with fellow photographer Sivan Askayo. It was great to meet an online friend in person. Sivan and I talked about our families, personal and professional goals, and of course, New York. Sivan was kind enough to take me on a tour of her favorite places and shops in the city while we exchanged photo tips.

In a city as massive as New York, I actually find myself drawn to small visual details: a bright red storefront, a pop of graffiti, a wreath hung on a garden gate. These details are everywhere, all you have to do is pay attention. Everywhere I looked, people were busy shopping, greeting friends, and warming up around a hot drink. I love capturing the city in such great spirits.

Happy 2013 & happy travels!

DSC_2471 DSC_2527NewYork3 DSC_2496 NewYork1DSC_2488NewYork5DSC_2461NewYork2 DSC_2435 NewYork4DSC_2426 DSC_2419NewYork6 NewYork7DSC_2393

13 responses to “A Manhattan Winter

  1. These photos are fantastic!! I’ve always wanted to visit NYC in the winter time to see a different side of the city. You’re one of my inspirations, taking beautiful pictures while also looking at the little details in cities. I’m still a newbie to photography, but in this upcoming year, one of my goals is to improve. I’m going to try to look at the little details too because they also tell a story, anywhere you are. Have a happy new year!

  2. These photos are fantastic! I’ve always been fond of traveling, and my parents have tried to make that possible for me. Still, I’ve been living in Pakistan for the last six years and been unable to leave the country because of my studies. I’ve always dreamed of Manhattan, and wanted to experience it myself. Your photos in this post make me want to see it even more. One day, I hope I will!

  3. Love the pictures! I flew over the city on new year’s eve 2012 and got to see the view of Times Square from a plane. I wish I had been able to take a good picture of it because I love seeing the skyline all lit up at night like in your photos.

  4. This is very nice. I live in Florida and I despise the winter but my time in NYC was magical and it made me forget how cold it was there because I was enjoying my time so much. Great blog.

    I am new to WordPress and writing reviews on books I have read. I intend to do one everyday. I would very much appreciate it if you took a quick glance. You have a very nice WP.

Leave a Reply

