Calling London Town, Part 1

I’ve been in London for almost a month now, and I can never get sick of this city. My love for London was immediate the moment I stepped off the plane. The mild weather (for a Canadian girl), the welcoming people, and the old-English styled fashion trends made it all so easy for me to feel comfortable here. The city is a fine myriad of architecture, history, and, of course, royalty.

Here are photos from my very first weekend in the city, when it drizzled in typical London fashion. But that didn’t deter my spirit. I rode a hop-on hop-off bus around the city, hitting all the big tourist sights at least 3 times, indulged in Mamma Mia and Phantom of the Opera at night, cruised on the river, and developed an innocent crush on the policemen in their black & white uniforms.

Inside St. Paul’s Cathedral, where I was definitely not supposed to take pictures…

A wedding outside of St. Paul’s. The view from top of St. Paul’s.

23 responses to “Calling London Town, Part 1

  1. Terrifically rich colors especially inside the cathedral! London is a great place photogenically, and I love your description of the experience. Haven’t been in over a decade. I think it’s time to plan a trip. You know, every now and then, I hear about some friends flying to London for something crazy, like $3. Random thought. Great blog!

    • I didn’t really like these shots; I think my camera is feelings the effects of traveling and constantly snapping. Upgrading in April, but thanks for the comments!

  2. Hey, welcome to the UK. I spent my teen years around London, no better city for wandering. Have you discovered the markets yet, my favourites were always the biggies; Camden and Covent Garden. x

  3. Hey! Thanks for commenting on my blog!!! I really like your blog and photos. I’m soooo jealous that you are in England. I’m actually from England but my parents moved out to America when I was little.

    Good luck taking photos of your England adventures!!!

  4. Tracy –
    great admiration for your work, and so happy that someone is capturing such amazing moments of a city I really love!

    looking forward to more great pics 🙂

  5. Beautiful – you managed to capture what I saw the first few times I went to visit London. I actually moved there 3 years ago, and even though I had to move to a more ‘rural’ area due to the high rents in Greater London, I’ve never regretted it once.

  6. Pingback: 2011: My Year in Travel Photography « Just-In-Time·

  7. Really nice pictures! I’ve been living in London about 9 months now and I’m starting to get a bit homesick.(I’m also a Canadian girl.) Your pictures have inspired me to go capture some more moments!

Leave a Reply

