Goodbye China

Having once lived in China for 11 years, I still travel there frequently. This post is from my trip to China in May 2010. View more stories from that trip and other China trips here.

It’s been a long time since I had time to write an update about what I’m doing. Today is one of the last few days I will spend in China this year. I finally have some time to rest my feet, watch some TV, and tell you about my trip so far, and the many more trips to come.

This month has been a whirlwind of traveling in China; I visited cities that I’ve never been to, and saw more family than I had in the last 5 years. The trip was rewarding in many ways: 4 cities (Beijing, Changsha, Nanjing, Shanghai), 3 weeks, World Expo, and 2008 Olympic sites.

I feel fulfilled and am ready to end the constant traveling for a while – I look forward to stop living out of my suitcase. But the craziness of living in airports, on subways, and at train stations isn’t quite over yet. And you know I’ll sneak in whatever photo opportunities I can get.

For now, here are some loose photos from the 4 cities I visited. It’s a mixture of the old China and the modern China, both of tourist sites and everyday lives…

13 responses to “Goodbye China

  1. story time:
    I went to the Bird's Nest – the stadium where soccer, and track & field games were held during the 2008 summer Olympics in Beijing. I believe the tightrope walker performs (on certain days) across the open rooftop of the Bird's Nest. No, there wasn't a net. Yes, we were ALL very impressed.

    thanks for coming by Thomas, as usual =)

  2. I have never been to the East but it is certainly on my list of things to do before I return to the eternal rest 😉 I certainly got a feel and taste from your photos.

    I am enjoying your youthful energy and passion for travel and photography.

  3. Hi, enjoyed the pictures. I too lived in China in the 80's but never made it to Beijing. We lived in Jiangiang above Hanan Island. I hope I have spelled the places correctly. It has been a while but will never forget our time there especially the very intelligent, warm and hard working people who we met. It certainly was not a modern China as seen in Bejing or Shanghai. Thank you for the pictures. Sincerely, Carolgrace.

Leave a Reply

